YWCA Greater Lafayette Announces Salute to Women Class of 2021 Honorees

A- A A+

YWCA Greater Lafayette Announces Salute to Women Class of 2021 Honorees

Categories: Empowering Women, News

salute to women class of 2021 announcement photo block

YWCA Greater Lafayette announces the 47th Annual Salute to Women Honorees. This year’s celebration, held at New Journey Farms on July 27, will host a diverse group of passionate influencers and notable changemakers to be honored.

Allison Beggs, President and CEO, said the selection committee was pleased to receive such thoughtful nominations this year, which resulted in the selection of nine outstanding women to be honored.

“YWCA Greater Lafayette is proud to be a part of recognizing and applauding the work of such amazing women,” Beggs said. “Since 1974, YWCA has honored 334 women. We live in such a culturally aware and educated community, and it is important to know that there is an unlimited number of women who contribute to the quality of life here through their vision, service and leadership.”

YWCA is proud to present the Salute to Women Class of 2021 Honorees:

Woman of Promise

Grace Paton, Harm Reduction and Program Manager, Tippecanoe County Health Department
Since establishing herself in Tippecanoe County, Grace has earned CAPRC II (Certified Addiction Peer Recovery Coach II) a credential only for those who have personally lived through an experience of recovery from substance use, mental health or co-occurring disorders. Prior to becoming Tippecanoe County Health Department’s Harm Reduction Program Manager in 2021, Grace has been the Recovery Coach for Gateway to Hope Syringe Service Program since 2018.

Women of Innovation

Amanda Balser, Executive Assistant, Tippecanoe County Health Department
Khala Hochstedler, Administrator, Tippecanoe County Health Department
Amanda Balser and Khala Hochstedler formed the tireless team who helped lead Tippecanoe County through the COVID-19 pandemic by developing and redeveloping polices, establishing temporary emergency shelters, setting up testing and vaccination centers and delivering food relief to quarantined families.

Women of Distinction

Lorie Amick, Artist and founding member of Artists’ Own
Lorie Amick paints in oils, encaustic and acrylic but the main body of her work has been in watercolor. Her subjects are primarily still life and floral with a nod toward the nostalgic. Lorie has been represented in regional and national juried exhibitions including National Watercolor Society, Heritage Arts Foundation and Hoosier Salon. Lorie is a founding member of Artists’ Own and teaches watercolor at the Art Museum of Greater Lafayette.

Paula Davis, Owner, Blooms & Petals Flowers & Event Concepts
Paula Eve Davis is an entrepreneur, fitness advocate and community servant.  She is the founder of The Good Samaritan Project, bringing flowers, snacks, smiles and sentiments to unsung heroes in the community. She has been a fitness trainer and coach since 1999. Paula is an accomplished florist with her shop Blooms and Petals Flowers & Event Concepts in Lafayette, Indiana, and is the president of Teleflora Indiana.  Recently, her successful flower shop has celebrated over 20 years in business.

Tracy Dodds, Author and former Sports Journalist
Tracy Dodds was one of the first women to cover sports for a major publication. Dodds has covered college football and basketball including Final Four tournaments and the Rose Bowl, Orange Bowl, Sugar Bowl and Cotton Bowl. She was the first woman to be inducted into the Indiana Sportswriters and Sportscasters Hall of Fame. She covered the 1982, 1988 and 1996 Olympic games. She is currently writing the biography for former UCLA Basketball star and coach Larry Farmer. If you want to bet on any sports, you can do so in confidence on sites such as betmove.

Major General Erika Steuterman, USAF (Retired)
Erika Steuterman served for the United States Air Force for 34 years before retiring as a Major General. During her 34 years of service, she earned twelve major awards and decorations including the Defense Superior Service Medal from the Secretary of Defense during the Global War on Terror. During that time, her passion for individuals with physical and mental disabilities spurred her involvement with Wabash Center and Friendship House.  Erika is a very involved community volunteer in the Greater Lafayette area, serving on many boards including Tippecanoe County Sheriff’s Merit Board, United Way, Friendship House, Wabash Center, Purdue Mortar Board and Arc of Indiana.

Mallori Walker, MSN, RN, NP, Pediatrics IU Health Arnett Hospital
Mallori Walker is a Pediatric Nurse Practitioner at Indiana University Health Arnett (IUHA) since 2008. She earned both her Bachelor and Master Degrees in Nursing from Purdue University. In 2015, Mallori transitioned into her current role as a Pediatric Nurse Practitioner at IUHA. She is the lead Advanced Practice Provider for Maternal Child Health at IUHA and leads the Diversity, Equity, & Inclusion (DE&I) work in the West Central Region of IUHA, and the chair of the IU Health system wide DE&I Council. Mallori is a lecturer in the School of Nursing at Purdue University and the coach of the Purdue University Dance Team. Mallori serves on the Board of Directors for Bauer Family Resources and Operation Happy Nurse.

Mary Keller Ade, MD Woman of Wisdom

Dr. Dorothy Reed, Ph.D., (Retired)
Dr. Reed recently retired from Purdue University where she served as Assistant Dean for Engagement in the College of Education for over a decade.  Prior to her appointment as assistant dean, she led the university’s diversity efforts as an assistant provost.  She is a member of the Black Caucus of Faculty and Staff where she served as secretary/historian. Dr. Reed has contributed immeasurable hours of community-service programming initiatives through Alpha Kappa Alpha sorority.  She has been actively involved in the American Heart Association and Board of Directors for Food Finders.

Tickets for the 47th Annual Salute to Women are on sale now through July 20. Individual tickets are $75 and tables of 10 may be purchased for $650. The evening includes a cocktail reception, dinner and presentation of awards to all honorees.

Purchase Tickets