YWCA welcomes seven new members to Salute to Women Hall of Fame

A- A A+

YWCA welcomes seven new members to Salute to Women Hall of Fame

Categories: Empowering Women, News

For immediate release
YWCA Salute to Women
Contact: Tracy Dodds Hurd
YWCA Media Relations
Office: 765-423-7014

YWCA announces 2019 Salute to Women honorees

Seven local women will be honored at the 45th annual Salute to Women on Tuesday, March 5, at The Trails. The winners were announced Wednesday afternoon by Allison Beggs, executive director for YWCA Greater Lafayette. “The 2019 Salute to Women class represents strength, service and passion for their causes,” Beggs said. “These outstanding women join an elite group and share in a legacy of service and leadership.”

The legacy of YWCA’s service, locally, began in 1929, making this year the 90th anniversary of the organization.

Meet the Honorees

Grayce Lechtenberg will be recognized as this year’s Woman of Wisdom. Lechtenberg’s passion for helping young people, advocating for women and improving the quality of life in the Greater Lafayette area has been shown through her leadership with scores of local organizations for more than 52 years.

Vanessa Pacheco was chosen Woman of Innovation. Pacheco is Coordinator for Civic Engagement in the office of Civic Engagement and Leadership Development at Purdue. She is Director of Policy for the Younger Women’s Task Force of Greater Lafayette and Director of the Women of Color Collective.

Being honored as Women of Distinction:

Cathy Benner founded Joyful Journey, a non-profit daycare for seniors.

Sana Booker is West Lafayette’s City Clerk and president of the West Lafayette Board of Works and Safety.

Tamara House is a champion for Grant’s House, a center for children and adults with special needs that is named for her late son, Grant House.

Cynthia Paz Koh-Knox Sharp, a Clinical Associate Professor as a Doctor of Pharmacy at Purdue, is a healthcare advocate who has volunteered with the Tippecanoe County Forensic Diversion court program, Riggs Community Health Clinic and Work Release.

Sarah C. Johnson, retired Director of Dining Services at Purdue, mentored students in campus service and leadership, band and orchestra, and The Reamer Club. She has held leadership positions in several community organizations and has advocated for their causes.

The first Salute to Women was held March 15, 1974. It was organized by the Lafayette Women’s Political Caucus. The Purdue Women’s Caucus joined as a sponsor. Over the years several groups have been involved. YWCA Greater Lafayette became the sole sponsoring organization in 2000. Make reservations on or before Feb. 26 online at www.ywcalafayette.org/salutetickets or call YWCA Greater Lafayette at 765-742-0075.